If you incurred damage from the February 2021 winter storm, you may be eligible for FEMA assistance. Twenty-three Louisiana parishes were declared disaster areas for February 11-19. Previous federally declared disaster claims do not exclude you from registering for assistance under a new storm. The following parishes are covered under the winter storm disaster declaration:

Avoyelles, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Catahoula, Claiborne, Concordia, DeSoto, East Baton Rouge, Franklin, Grant, LaSalle, Madison, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, Webster, West Carroll, and Winn.

You may qualify for various FEMA grants to help with uninsured and underinsured damage and losses incurred by the winter storm. In addition, assistance is available for childcare, dental expenses, medical, rent, and home repair or replacement. If you are a homeowner and have insurance, file a claim with your insurance company first.

To apply for winter storm disaster assistance call the FEMA helpline at 800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585), go to DisasterAssistance.gov, or visit www.fema.gov/disaster/4590.

15 Iconic Retail Stores That Don't Exist Anymore (But We Totally Miss Shopping At)

More From My Magic LC 92.1 FM